A Work Package status determines which data can be entered at each stage. First, you plan costs and edit the Work Package. Then, you enter actual cost data and, once the work is complete, complete the Work Package. This is why some data can be edited in certain statuses but not in others. This helps protect the data from unwanted changes.
A Work Package can have the following statuses:
When sent to the Client, the Work Package automatically changes to “Approval” status.
When the Client approves the Work Package, it automatically changes to “In Progress” status.
You can manually switch the Work Package from one status to another on any tab.
If the Work Package is in “In Progress” status and you need to make minor changes, enable “Edit mode.” For significant changes, it is better to create a Change Order or mark items as Omitted.
Result: essential data is protected from changes while work is in progress and after the Project is completed.